Maharashtra Political Crisis: Here's How The Uddhav Thackeray-Led MVA Govt Is Placed In Assembly


Maharashtra Political Crisis: Amid the crisis, all eyes are on the numbers in the Maharashtra Assembly and how the Uddhav Thackeray-led MVA government is placed.

A political turmoil is brewing in Maharashtra after Shiv Sena leader and state minister Eknath Shinde reportedly moved to a hotel in BJP-ruled Gujarat with 21 other MLAs, putting a question mark on the stability of the MVA dispensation. Shinde, a four-time MLA from Thane, is reportedly unhappy with the Sena leadership over being sidelined in the party.

Amid the crisis, all eyes are on the numbers in the Maharashtra Assembly and how the Uddhav Thackeray-led MVA government is placed.

Here Is How The Numbers Stack Up:

  • The total strength of the Maharashtra Assembly is 288. The Assembly has one vacancy due to the death of Shiv Sena MLA Ramesh Latke. This brings the majority mark in the Assembly to 144.
  • The MVA government of the Shiv Sena, Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) and the Congress currently has 152 legislators. Shiv Sena has 55 MLAS, NCP (53) and Congress (44).
  • The opposition BJP has 106 MLAs. However, Maharashtra BJP chief Chandrakant Patil has claimed that they have the support of 135 MLAs.
  • Of the 22 "missing" MLAs who are allegedly camping at a hotel in Surat, 21 of them are of Sena and one is an Independent. If these MLAs led by Eknath Shinde resign, the Assembly strength comes down to 265 (287-22=263). Then the new majority mark in the House will be 133.
  • Subsequently, the Sena's number will be 34 and the MVA coalition's strength in the Assembly will then come down to 131 (Sena-34, Congress-44, NCP-53), two short of the majority mark. It must also be remembered that two NCP leaders Anil Deshmukh and Nawab Malik are presently in jail.
  • In such a scenario, the stand of 29 legislators from smaller parties and Independents is likely to be crucial. In the Assembly, Bahujan Vikas Agahdi has three MLAs while Samajwadi Party, AIMIM and Prahar Janshakti Party have two each. MNS, CPI-M, PWP, Swabhimani Paksha, Rashtriya Samaj Party, Jansurajya Shakti Party and Krantikari Shetkari Paksha have one MLA each. There are 13 independent MLAs.
  • Of the 13 Independents, six are supporters of the BJP, five have backed the Shiv Sena, while the Congress and NCP enjoy the support of one Independent each, PTI reported. Among the Independents, Rajendra Patil Yedrawkar is a minister in the MVA government from the Shiv Sena quota. Similarly, Shankarrao Gadakh, the Krantikari Shetkari Paksh MLA from Nevasa, and Bachu Kadu of the Prahar Janshakti Party are also ministers from the Shiv Sena quota.

Post a Comment

Previous Post Next Post